Skip to main content

Paul Tergat Headlines Biwako Mainichi Marathon Elite Field (updated)

by Brett Larner

On Feb. 18 the Biwako Mainichi Marathon released the elite field for this year's running to be held on Sun., Mar. 1. Headlining the field is former marathon world record holder Paul Tergat of Kenya. The 39 year old Tergat was scheduled to run the 2007 Fukuoka International Marathon but withdrew at the last moment citing required military service, meaning that Biwako, also known as Lake Biwa and Otsu, will be his first time appearing in a marathon in Japan.

Among the foreign competition facing Tergat are last year's runner-up Yared Asmerom (Eritrea) and past champion Jose Rios (Spain). Both Asmerom and Rios recorded their personal bests on the Biwako course. Also on the bill are Abderrahime Bouramdane (Morocco), Abiyot Guta (Ethiopia), Vitaliy Shafar (Ukraine) and Pawel Ochal (Poland).

Biwako is a selection race for the Japanese men's marathon team for the 2009 World Championships in Berlin. The top Japanese finisher will earn a spot on the team, and other runners have a chance of making the team if they record sub-2:10 times. The two most likely contenders are last year's 4th and 5th place overall finishers, Yuzo Onishi (Team Nissin Shokuhin) and Tomoya Shimizu (Team Sagawa Express), both of whom ran their personal bests while trying to qualify for the Beijing Olympics at last year's Biwako. Takashi Ota (Team Konica Minolta) could also factor into the action, having another go after dropping out at the 27 km point of the Feb. 1 Beppu-Oita Mainichi Marathon. Rounding out the invited domestic field are 2:08:56 runner Kazutoshi Takatsuka (Team Komori Corp.) and 2006 Biwako 7th place finisher Masaya Shimizu (Team Asahi Kasei).

Several dozen other professional Japanese runners and university students are entered in the general division, including at least ten debut marathoners with strong half marathon times. The depth of Japanese running being what it is, an unexpected general division runner could well be up front challenging for a World Championships spot. Kazuyoshi Shimozato (Team Nissan), Chiharu Takada (Team JR Higashi Nihon) and Noriaki Takahashi (Team Subaru) are the best bets for strong debuts, and with Biwako having a history of university students making major debuts we could see Hakone Ekiden runners Yoshiki Otsuka (Jobu Univ.), Yuto Shoji (Takushoku Univ.) or Ryo Waseda (Kokushikan Univ.) make a mark.

The complete lineup of the 2009 Biwako Mainichi Marathon field is available here. Biwako is Japan's only IAAF Gold Label road race. It will be broadcast live and commercial-free on NHK television on Mar. 1 beginning at 12:00 noon.

2009 Biwako Mainichi Marathon Elite Field
Paul Tergat (Kenya) - 2:04:55 (Berlin 2003)
Jose Rios (Spain) - 2:07:42 (Biwako 2004)
Abderrahime Bouramdane (Morocco) - 2:08:20 (Seoul 2007)
Yared Asmerom (Eritrea) - 2:08:34 (Biwako 2008)
Yuzo Onishi (Team Nissin Shokuhin) - 2:08:54 (Biwako 2008)
Kazutoshi Takatsuka (Team Komori Corp.) - 2:08:56 (Biwako 2004)
Tomoya Shimizu (Team Sagawa Express) - 2:09:23 (Biwako 2008)
Abiyot Guta (Ethiopia) - 2:10:38 (Cologne 2004)
Vitaliy Shafar (Ukraine) - 2:12:07 (Eindhoven 2007)
Takashi Ota (Team Konica Minolta) - 2:12:10 (Tokyo 2008)
Pawel Ochal (Poland) - 2:12:20 (Warsaw 2007)
Masaya Shimizu (Team Asahi Kasei) - 2:12:31 (Biwako 2006)
Kazuyoshi Shimozato (Team Nissan) - 1:02:00 (half marathon)
Chiharu Takada (Team JR Higashi Nihon) - 1:02:27 (half marathon)
Noriaki Takahashi (Team Subaru) - 1:02:41 (half marathon)

Update: Invited domestic elite Kazuki Ikenaga (Team Konica Minolta) has withdrawn from the race. Ikenaga was 8th at the 2008 Biwako Mainichi Marathon.

(c) 2009 Brett Larner
all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

JAAF and NHK Apologize for Camera Crew Interfering With Men's 10000 m National Championships

The JAAF has issued a joint apology with meet broadcaster NHK to the athletes and teams affected by an incident during the May 7 10000 m National Championships at Tokyo's National Stadium. An NHK TV camera entered the track area and stretched out a cable in front of an oncoming athlete, who collided with it. According to the JAAF and NHK, during the men's 10000 m A-heat, a two-person NHK camera crew in the infield area stepped out onto the track surface to get a closer shot of the top finishers. A cable extending back from the camera operator to his assistant caught athlete Shinji Mita of the Sunbelx corporate team in the neck, interfering with his performance. Immediately afterward, as the camera crew moved to get off the track they entered the path of another four oncoming athletes, who had to slow down as they tried to avoid colliding with the camera crew. All five athletes finished the race and were listed in the official results. Mita was taken to a hospital for examin

The Undeath of Historic Japanese Marathons: Lake Biwa Comeback Planned for 2023

After seeing its final edition in Shiga last year and then being absorbed into the Osaka Marathon  in March this year, the legacy of the Lake Biwa Mainichi Marathon will continue with a successor race to be held on Mar. 12 next year. Since the previous event wrapped up, the Shiga prefectural government has been examining holding a mass-participation race celebrating the tradition of the Lake Biwa Mainichi Marathon and has been looking at potential course and date options. In January they sought suggestions for a name for the event and selected "Lake Biwa Marathon" from among the submissions. The organizing committee came together in April to determine the new event's date and course. The race will begin at Ojiyama Field, historical starting point of the former race, and will cross Omi Bridge before heading north along Lake Biwa's eastern shore. Covering 42.195 km, it will feature a turnaround point in Moriyama before finishing at Lake Biwa Museum located on the Kara

Hironaka and Aizawa Win 10000 m National Titles

A crowd reported at over 6000 filled the lower stands at Tokyo's National Stadium Saturday to see the 10000 m component of this year's National Track and Field Championships . In the women's race, Ririka Hironaka (Japan Post) and Rino Goshima (Shiseido) sealed up their places on the Oregon World Championships team by going 1st and 3rd, with NR holder Akira Aizawa (Asahi Kasei) making a comeback for the win in the men's race but falling short of the Worlds standard. The dynamic in the women's race was changed dramatically a few hours before the race when top-ranked Seira Fuwa (Takushoku Univ.) announced she had withdrawn after not making enough progress in her comeback from an injury in January. In her absence Goshima took things out on pace to crack the standard, which only she, Hironaka and top collegian Narumi Kobayashi (Meijo Univ.) held going into the race. Following Goshima's lead were Hironaka, Kaede Hagitani (Edion), Mikuni Yada (Denso), Sayaka Sa