Skip to main content

10000 m National Championships Start Lists

The 10000 m component of this year's National Track and Field Championships happens Monday night in Shizuoka, just 5 months after the rescheduled 2020 edition. One spot each on the men's and women's 10000 m squads for the Tokyo Olympics 10000 m are already occupied by the winners of those races, and to pick up one of the two remaining spots this time around people will need to have the Olympic standard and make top 3. 

Tatsuhiko Ito (Honda), runner-up in December in 27:25.73, is the only one of the 44 Japanese men entered to have already cleared the 27:28.00 standard, so all he needs to worry about is putting himself among the first three. His nearest competition, Daiji Kawai (Toenec) and Tetsuya Yoroizaka (Asahi Kasei), will need to find another 7 or 8 seconds to have have a shot.

None of the 23 Japanese women entered has cleared the 31:25.00 standard, but Ririka Hironaka (Japan Post) came close in her debut last month in 31:30.03 and, along with sub-31:30 runner Harumi Okamoto (Yamada Holdings) and teammate Rina Nabeshima (Japan Post) goes to the line one of the favorites. Both races will feature Kenyan pacers to help ensure the races go out on Olympic-qualifying pace.

Top entrants with their best times inside the qualifying window are below. Compete start lists in Japanese can be had here.

Rodgers Chumo Kwemoi (Aisan Kogyo) - 26:55.36
Cleophas Kandie (Mitsubishi Juko) - 27:20.34
Tatsuhiko Ito (Honda) - 27:25.73
Daiji Kawai (Toenec) - 27:34.86
Tetsuya Yoroizaka (Asahi Kasei) - 27:36.29
Ren Tazawa (Komazawa Univ.) - 27:46.09
Kenta Murayama (Asahi Kasei) - 27:50.09
Tatsuya Maruyama (Yachiyo Kogyo) - 27:52.27
Takashi Ichida (Asahi Kasei) - 27:52.35
Yuki Muta (Hitachi Butsuryu) - 27:57.15
Keijiro Mogi (Asahi Kasei) - 27:57.36
Tatsuya Oike (Toyota Boshoku) - 27:58.40
Yudai Okamoto (Sunbelx) - 27:58.43
Yohei Ikeda (Kanebo) - 27:58.52
Yuto Aoki (Toyota) - 27:58.63
Hiroto Inoue (Mitsubishi Juko) - 27:59.40
Ryuto Igawa (Waseda Univ.) - 27:59.74

Harumi Okamoto (Yamada Holdings) - 31:29.29
Ririka Hironaka (Japan Post) - 31:30.03
Rina Nabeshima (Japan Post) - 31:31.52
Mikuni Yada (Denso) - 31:34.39
Ayumi Hagiwara (Toyota Jidoshokki) - 31:36.04
Sakiho Tsutsui (Yamada Holdings) - 31:36.19
Yuka Ando (Wacoal) - 31:37.71
Tabitha Njeri Kamau (Mitsui Sumitomo Kaijo) - 31:45.83
Shiori Yano (Denso) - 31:46.84

© 2021 Brett Larner, all rights reserved

Buy Me A Coffee


Eric in Seattle said…
Eric in Seattle:
For the Japanese women, for Tokyo, the 10k A grade (Hitomi Niiya and Mao Ichiyama) and 5k A grade (Hitomi Niiya and Ririka Hironaka). And for the Japanese men 10k A (Tatsuhiko Ito). I am not sure if there are any other people who made the A grade for 5k or 10k. Tokyo was delayed until 2021, and I am not sure when the the deadline.

Most-Read This Week

Ichiyama and Kipkoech Win Sapporo Olympic Test Event Half Marathon

The test event for the Tokyo Olympics marathon went off as planned May 5 in Sapporo on a course more or less mirroring the first half of this summer's Olympic course. Strong winds from the south meant a slow start over the first 8 km, super fast splits from the turn to the north just before 10 km until after 15 km, and a technical finish into the wind over the narrow and winding last few km through the Hokkaido University campus. After a slow first km, Olympic marathon women's team members Ayuko Suzuki (Japan Post) and Mao Ichiyama  (Wacoal) plus alternate Mizuki Matsuda (Daihatsu) took it out hard with pacing courtesy of one of Ichiyama's male coaches. They stayed together on 1:08 pace until almost 18 km before Suzuki slipped away, Ichiyama kicking to win in a 1:08:28 PB and Matsuda closing hard in 1:08:32 for 2nd, likewise a PB. Ichiyama's time moved her up to all-time Japanese #6, with Matsuda picking up the #7 spot and knocking her coach Miwako Yamanaka  out of t

Hironaka, Ando and Ito Score Olympic 10000 m Spots

20-year-old Ririka Hironaka  (Japan Post), marathoner Yuka Ando  (Wacoal) and last year's men's runner-up Tatsuhiko Ito  (Honda) joined the winners of December's 2020 National Championships 10000 m on the Tokyo Olympics team as they took the top spots at today's 2021 National Championships 10000 m in Shizuoka. Hironaka, who debuted over the distance three weeks ago with a 31:30.03, Ando and Kenyan pacer Tabitha Njeri Kamau  (Mitsui Sumitomo Kaijo) were all about the 31:25.00 Olympic standard, going out on sub-31 pace and burning off all competition, including Kamau. Hironaka took 1st in 31:11.75 with Ando next in 31:18.18, each of them clearing the JAAF's two criteria for Olympic selection, finishing in the top three and hitting the standard, to join 2020 winner Hitomi Niiya  (Sekisui Kagaku) on the Olympic team. No other women broke 32 minutes, 2021 National University Half Marathon champion Narumi Kobayashi  (Meijo Univ.) running 32:08.45, the 8th-fastest Japanese

Douglas Wakiihuri Awarded Medal of Honor for Bridging Divide Between Japan and Kenya

Former marathon runner Douglas Wakiihuri  has been awarded Japan's Spring Medal of Honor, an award recognizing individuals who have make exceptional contributions to Japanese society and become role models. Japan has produced a lot of distance runners, but Wakiihuri was the first Kenyan to pass through the Japanese development system.  His contributions to the sports and cultural exchange between Japan and Kenya are held in high esteem. Speaking in fluent Japanese from his home in Nairobi, an ebullient Wakiihuri said, "I am very happy. I owe a longstanding debt to everyone in Japan. The joy I feel is not just mine, but belongs to all of them. I am truly grateful."  Wakiihuri joined the S&B corporate team in 1983. "I was just 19 years old," he recalls. "Japan gave me a chance." Under the leadership of the late coach Kiyoshi Nakamura , Wakiihuri won the gold medal in the marathon at the 1987 Rome World Championships and the silver medal at the 1988