Skip to main content

Payton Jordan Invitational - Japanese Results

Stanford University's Payton Jordan Invitational is usually a big draw for Japanese runners, the site of the current women's 10000 m and former men's 10000 m national records. But with the JAAF moving the National Championships 10000 m from June to mid-May and the Golden Games in Nobeoka meet coming next weekend only a handful made the trip to California this time around.

On the women's side, Rina Nabeshima (Japan Post), the fastest Japanese woman over 5000 m last year, ran 15:26.30 for 8th in the 5000 to miss the 2019 Doha World Championships entry standard by
just over 4 seconds. Returning from a stellar half marathon debut in February her teammate Ayuko Suzuki ran 31:33.62 for 4th in the 10000 m, with Mai Shoji (Denso) 16th in 32:29.63.

Suzuki was well under the Doha standard but almost 9 seconds over the 2020 Tokyo Olympics standard. Having qualified for the Sept. 15 MGC Race Olympic marathon trials it's unlikely she would run the 10000 m in Doha, but if she missed the Olympic team in the marathon an Olympic qualifying mark here would have given her some options and freedom for the fall and next spring.

Fresh from a big clash with the JAAF after they declined to let him run the National Championships 10000 m without a qualifying mark, 5000 m national record holder Suguru Osako (Nike Oregon Project) refreshed his 5000 m qualifying mark with a 13:40.48 for 2nd in the B-heat. This year's Japanese year-leader to date, Hyuga Endo (Sumitomo Denko) had a rougher time in the A-heat, finishing last in 14:11.53. His teammate Kazuki Tamura, hoping to clear 27:40.00 Doha standard after running a 5000 m PB two weeks ago at Mt. SAC, dropped out near 8500 m after falling off pace early in the second half.

Payton Jordan Invitational

Stanford University, Palo Alto, U.S.A., 5/2/19
complete results

Women's 5000 m Section 1
1. Jenny Simpson (New Balance) - 15:21.12
2. Rachel Schneider (Under Armour) - 15:21.44
3. Amy-Eloise Neale (Reebok Boston TC) - 15:21.58
4. Violah Lagat (Adidas) - 15:22.52
5. Elinor Purner (New Balance Boston) - 15:23.37
8. Rina Nabeshima (Japan Post) - 15:26.30

Men's 5000 m Section 1
1. Yomif Kejelcha (Nike Oregon Project) - 13:10.72
2. Kirubel Erassa (American Distance Project) - 13:17.23
3. Andrew Butchart (New Balance) - 13:18.16
4. Isaac Kimeli (Olympic Running Team) - 13:18.19
5. Robyn Hendrix (Olympic Running Team) - 13:19.50
24. Hyuga Endo (Sumitomo Denko) - 14:11.53

Men's 5000 m Section 2
1. Lander Tijdgat (Olympic Running Team) - 13:40.16
2. Suguru Osako (Nike Oregon Project) - 13:40.48
3. Per Svela (Aam) - 13:40.63
4. Federico Bruno (Argentina) - 13:41.52
5. Connor Lane (Stanford) - 13:42.31

Women's 10000 m
1. Sifan Hassan (Nike Oregon Project) - 31:18.12
2. Susan Krumins (Melbourne Track Club) - 31:23.81
3. Camille Buscomb (Melbourne Track Club) - 31:33.04
4. Ayuko Suzuki (Japan Post) - 31:33.62
5. Carrie Dimoff (Bowerman TC) - 31:42.88
16. Mai Shoji (Denso) - 32:29.63

Men's 10000 m
1. Ben True (Saucony) - 27:52.39
2. Marc Scott (Bowerman TC) - 27:56.19
3. Harry Summers (Melbourne Track Club) - 27:56.98
4. Diego Estrada (Asics) - 27:57.99
5. Reid Buchanan (Mammoth TC) - 27:58.67
DNF - Kazuki Tamura (Sumitomo Denko)

© 2019 Brett Larner, all rights reserved

Buy Me A Coffee


Most-Read This Week

How Things Played Out - Hakone, Marathon Development, Where Things Went, and What's Still Ahead

Four and a half years ago JRN published a look at 20 years' worth of the Hakone Ekiden and the relationship between development at the university level on Japan's Hakone circuit and later success in the marathon. There are a lot more important things going on right now, but, since we've got some time on our hands, let's follow up on where things have gone since then and what might still be ahead.

In the original article I wrote, "In the next 4-6 years we are going to see a lot more Japanese marathoners running fast times, the first really significant overall change in Japanese men's marathoning since Barcelona ('92).....Once that ball gets rolling we should see an impact on the all-time marathon lists and when that happens you are talking real times. There's nothing to suggest Japanese men are going to start running 2:03 or 2:04 marathons, but given the numbers involved 2:07 and 2:08 should become normal, with 2:06 in range of the top men the way 2:07…

Osaka Governor Admits "It Would be Pretty Difficult" to Put On Osaka Marathon This Year

Osaka Governor Hirofumi Yoshimura, 44, appeared remotely on a morning news talk show on May 31. Asked by one of the hosts whether the Nov. 29 Osaka Marathon, one of the world's ten largest marathons, would be held this year, Yoshimura answered, "I think it would be pretty difficult this year, but the organizers are in the final stages of their decision-making process. They will make an announcement soon."

Held annually since its launch in 2011, this year the Osaka Marathon is set to celebrate its tenth edition and its first running as a World Athletics label race. As mayor of the city of Osaka Yoshimura himself ran and finished the 2017 race. With a new course finishing at Osaka Castle Park, last year's race had 32,989 finishers. With that number of people it is likely that they would come into close proximity to each other at the start in front of the Osaka Metropolitan Government offices.

"We are in discussion with all involved parties," said Yoshimura. …

Ageo City Half Marathon Canceled - AGU Coach Hara Calls for "Medical Worker Support Half Marathon" Instead

On June 2, the organizers of the Nov. 15 Ageo City Half Marathon announced that this year's race has been canceled due to the ongoing coronavirus crisis. Every year Ageo attracts hundreds of collegiate runners hoping to impress their coaches over the distance and have a chance of making their Hakone Ekiden dreams come true. Marathon national record holder Suguru Osako showed his talent there in 2010, winning Ageo his first year at Waseda University in a still-standing Asian junior record 1:01:47. Since the 2011 race, every year the top two Japanese collegiate finishers have been invited to run March's NYC Half Marathon. This year Ageo was certified by World Athletics as a world-class event, but its cancelation means that a key part of the fall season has been lost.

Susumu Hara, the outspoken head coach of this year's Hakone Ekiden winner Aoyama Gakuin University, was quick to take to Twitter to comment. "One of the most important fall university races, the Ageo Half, …