Skip to main content

National Championships 10000 m Entry Lists

The National Championships 10000 m will be held six weeks earlier than the rest of the meet this year in a bid to help people produce better performances to increase their positions in the world rankings ahead of next year's Tokyo Olympics. The 10000 m will take place May 19 in Osaka as part of the Golden Grand Prix meet.

The women's race includes six of the seven Japanese women who have cleared the 2019 Doha World Championships standard of 31:50.00, the only absence being Harumi Okamoto (Mitsui Sumitomo Denko), 31:28.20 at December's Corporate Women's Time Trials meet. Of them, only #2-ranked Hitomi Niiya (Nike Tokyo TC) has cleared the more demanding 31:25.00 Tokyo Olympic standard with a 31:22.63 in her silver medal-winning run at last month's Asian Athletics Championships.

With no Japanese men under either the 27:40.00 Doha standard or the 27:28.00 Olympic standard the men's race includes four Japan-based Kenyans to try to pull them along to at least the Doha mark. All-time Japanese #2 for 10000 m by PB, Tetsuya Yoroizaka leads the Japanese men with a 27:55.85 win in last November's Hachioji Long Distance B-heat. The only Japanese man under 28 minutes so far this year, half marathon national record holder Yuta Shitara (Honda) has given the 10000 m a miss.

Entry lists with season best times:

Minami Yamanouchi (Kyocera) - 31:16.48
Hitomi Niiya (Nike Tokyo TC) - 31:22.63
Rina Nabeshima (Japan Post) - 31:28.81
Ayuko Suzuki (Japan Post)- 31:33.62
Shiori Yano (Canon AC Kyushu) - 31:44.13
Yuka Hori (Panasonic) - 31:48.93
Natsuki Sekiya (Daito Bunka Univ.) - 31:50.17
Mizuki Matsuda (Daihatsu) - 31:52.42
Kaori Morita (Panasonic) - 31:57.95
Ayumi Hagiwara (Toyota Jidoshokki) - 31:58.52
Sayaka Sato (Sekisui Kagaku) - 31:59.64
Sakiho Tsutsui (Yamada Denki) - 32:18.70
Kasumi Nishihara (Yamada Denki) - 32:19.59
Ai Hosoda (Daihatsu) - 32:21.11
Mai Shoji (Denso) - 32:22.82
Misaki Hayashida (Toyota Jidoshokki) - 32:26.65
Anna Matsuda (Kyocera) - 32:27.35
Rino Kojima (Chuo Univ.) - 32:32.95
Misaki Nishida (Edion) - 32:44.78
Nanami Watanabe (Panasonic) - 32:44.98
Ikumi Fukura (Otsuka Seiyaku) - 32:57.89
Nozomi Tanaka (Toyota Jidoshokki TC) - debut

Rodgers Shumo Kwemoi (Aisan Kogyo) - 27:28.66
Bernard Koech (Kyudenko) - 27:31.83
Joel Mwaura (Kurosaki Harima) - 27:45.31
Tetsuya Yoroizaka (Asahi Kasei) - 27:55.85
Hiroki Abe (Meiji Univ.) - 27:56.45
Robert Kipchirchir Mwei (Asahi Kasei) - 27:57.14
Kazuki Tamura (Sumitomo Denko) - 27:58.35
Takuya Fujikawa (Chugoku Denryoku) - 27:58.87
Yuma Higashi (Kyudenko) - 28:03.46
Gen Hachisuka (Konica Minolta) - 28:05.32
Taku Fujimoto (Toyota) - 28:08.30
Daiji Kawai (Toenec) - 28:08.52
Kota Murayama (Asahi Kasei) - 28:10.39
Kenta Murayama (Asahi Kasei) - 28:12.53
Kazuma Taira (Kanebo) - 28:16.22
Yamato Otsuka (NTT Nishi Nihon) - 28:17.68
Akira Aizawa (Toyo Univ.) - 28:17.81
Takashi Ichida (Asahi Kasei) - 28:18.15
Hiroshi Ichida (Asahi Kasei) - 28:23.58
Tatsuya Oike (Toyota Boshoku) - 28:24.25
Takumi Komatsu (NTT Nishi Nihon) - 28:24.39
Daisuke Momozawa (San Kogyo) - 28:25.56
Shohei Kurata (GMO) - 28:29.01
Masaru Aoki (Kanebo) - 28:29.70
Yusuke Tamura (Kurosaki Harima) - 28:31.06
Keijiro Mogi (Asahi Kasei) - 28:33.21
Hiroki Suzuki (YKK) - 28:42.60
Naoya Takahashi (Yasukawa Denki) - 28:44.43
Rintaro Takeda (Yakult) - 28:44.52
Yuta Bando (Fujitsu) - 29:19.72

© 2019 Brett Larner, all rights reserved

Buy Me A Coffee


Most-Read This Week

Dark Side of the Rising Sun

For all the good things that happened this year, just like anywhere else Japan had its share of problems. In sports, speed skater Kei Saito's doping suspension at the Pyeongchang Olympics, the harassment case around coach Kazuhito Sakae and Olympic gold medalist wrestler Kaori Icho, and the Nihon University football scandal involving head coach Masato Uchida directing a player to deliberately take out the opposing team's quarterback were some of the bigger stories, but in athletics as well there was no shortage of problems. From actions ranging from the individual to the systemic and societal, from doping to corruption to abuse and harassment, a quick list of the year's lows two years out from Tokyo 2020.
Drugs and Injections'Top Canoeist Suspended for Framing Rival for Doping'

Why is the Number of Doping Offenders Growing in Once-Upon-a-Time Clean Japan?

National Corporate Women's Ekiden Champion Team to be Stripped of Title After Member Tests Positive

Nakamura …

JAAF Announces Last-Chance Olympic Marathon Standards: 2:05:49 and 2:22:22

We hereby announce the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Marathon Team qualifying standards for the MGC Final Challenge.
men: 2:05:49
women: 2:22:22 These times are one second faster than the fastest times run by Japanese men and women within the MGC Race qualifying period. The fastest athlete under these standards at one of the MGC Final Challenge series races will earn the third and final spot on the Tokyo 2020 team following the two to be decided at September's MGC Race. MGC Final Challenge series races:
Men:73rd Fukuoka International MarathonTokyo Marathon 202075th Lake Biwa Mainichi Marathon Women:5th Saitama International Marathon39th Osaka International Women's MarathonNagoya Women's Marathon 2020 For more information on the overall Tokyo 2020 Olympic team qualification process please click here.
The official MGC site:
source press release:
translated and edited by Brett Larner

10000 m National Championships Lead Weekend Action

It's a busy weekend on the track across the country. In long distance action the main event is Sunday's 10000 m national championships, held this year a month and a half before the rest of the National Track and Field Championships in an effort to help people produce better performances to maximize their world rankings points. The 10000 m will be held in Osaka's Nagai Stadium just after the Golden Grand Prix Osaka meet, which maxes out this time around with the 3000 m steeplechase.

22 women are entered in the 10000 m including 6 of the 7 who have cleared the 31:50.00 Doha World Championships standard and the only one who has cleared the 31:25.00 Tokyo Olympics standard. That would be the currently world-ranked #3 Hitomi Niiya (Nike Tokyo TC), who lapped 2nd place the last time she ran Nationals back in 2013 en route to a still-standing championships record 31:06.67. #16-ranked Ayuko Suzuki (Japan Post), jointly #22-ranked Kaori Morita (Panasonic) and Mizuki Matsuda (Daiha…