Skip to main content

Japan Dominates Asian Cross Country Championships

Japan dominated the 14th Asian Cross Country Championships Thursday in Guiyang, China, winning all four team gold medals to hold the hosts China back to silver in every race.

Japan's only individual gold came in the Junior Women's race, one of its usual areas of strength. Yuna Wada led a Japanese sweep of the top four positions to win the 6 km race in 20:43 with scoring teammates Ririka Hironaka and Tomomi Musembi Takamatsu just behind.

With the meet also serving as China's National Championships Chinese athletes won the individual gold in the other three races, Dan Li, Cairen Suolong and Jianhua Peng all showing better closing speed to beat their Japanese rivals by 3~4 seconds. Li won the Senior Women's 8 km by 3 seconds over Japan's Yukari Abe, leading China to its closest call on a team gold as it took silver at 14 points to Japan's 12. Suolong outkicked Yuhi Nakaya, 2018 Japanese junior national champion and star runner at 2017 National High School Ekiden champ Saku Chosei H.S., by 4 seconds to win the Junior Men's 8 km, where Japanese men finished 2nd through 4th to take the team gold. Peng duplicated Suolong's performance, outkicking Japan's Kazuya Nishiyama by 4 seconds for the win. Again, Japanese men went 2~4 to win the team gold.

14th Asian Cross Country Championships

Guiyang, China, 3/15/18
click here for complete results

Junior Women's 6 km
1. Yuna Wada (Japan) - 20:43
2. Ririka Hironaka (Japan) - 20:45
3. Tomomi Musembi Takamatsu (Japan) - 20:48
4. Nozomi Tanaka (Japan) - 21:13
5. Zeng Ting (China) - 22:42

1. Japan - 6
2. China - 20

Senior Women's 8 km
1. Dan li (China) - 28:03
2. Yukari Abe (Japan) - 28:06
3. Jadhav Sanjivani (India) - 28:19
4. Nanami Watanabe (Japan) - 28:27
5. Xinjan Zhang (China) - 28:41
6. Yuka Hori (Japan) - 28:44
7. Rina Nabeshina (Japan) - 28:57
9. Rika Kaseda (Japan) - 29:50

1. Japan - 12
2. China - 14
3. India - 28

Junior Men's 8 km
1. Cairen Suolang (China) - 25:35
2. Yuhi Nakaya (Japan) - 25:39
3. Ren Tazawa (Japan) - 25:42
4. Ryunosuke Chigira (Japan) - 26:02
5. Reito Hanzawa (Japan) - 26:15
7. Kiyoto Suzuki (Japan) - 26:29

1. Japan - 9
2. China - 19
3. Iran - 31

Senior Men's 12 km
1. Jianhua Peng (China) - 38:22
2. Kazuya Nishiyama (Japan) - 38:26
3. Shunsuke Imanishi (Japan) - 38:28
4. Kosei Yamaguchi (Japan) - 38:37
5. Ciwang Danmuzhen (China) - 39:07
6. Kazuma Taira (Japan) - 39:11
8. Hayato Mera (Japan) - 39:39

1. Japan - 9
2. China - 16
3. Iran - 32

© 2018 Brett Larner, all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

Nittai University Head Coach Masaaki Watanabe Fired Over Abuse Scandal

On Sept. 12 Nittai University announced that it will fire ekiden team head coach Masaaki Watanabe, 55, over the current power harassment scandal surrounding him. According to the university's public relations office, interviews by the alumni association with five current and one former team member reported multiple acts of violence by Watanabe including kicking athletes' legs and grabbing them by the chest.

The interviews also reported that Watanabe verbally abused and threatened student athletes and attacked their character. When runners fell off pace during workouts he was reported to have shouted, "Get the hell out of this university!" and, following the runners in a car, "I am going to f*cking run you over and kill you." Injured team members were also reported to have been subject to verbal humiliation by Watanabe, including, "Look at this f*cking cripple," and "You f*cking deserve it." Watanabe admitted the accusations but said tha…

Weekend Overseas Japanese Results

Lost in the luminosity of Eliud Kipchoge's world record and Gladys Cherono's women's course record at the Berlin Marathon were a score of Japanese results there and elsewhere overseas, ranging from the sparkling to the dull. Cherono and 2nd and 3rd placers Ruti Aga and Tirunesh Dibaba all broke Mizuki Noguchi's Berlin Marathon course record of 2:19:12 which has stood since she set that national record mark in 2005.

A kilometer behind Dibaba, Mizuki Matsuda (Daihatsu) followed up her 2:22:44 debut in Osaka in January with a 2:22:23 PB for 5th, making her just the fourth Japanese woman ever to break 2:23 twice in her career. 2:23:46 woman Honami Maeda (Tenmaya) ran 2:25:23 for 7th, beating Tenmaya teammate Rei Ohara whose 2:27:28 put her only 10th but qualified her for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics marathon trials, only the second athlete after 2018 Boston Marathon winner Yuki Kawauchi (Saitama Pref. Gov't) to qualify for the trials under the two-race average wildcard opt…

Kazami Breaks 100 km World Record at Lake Saroma

Running on the same course where Japan's Takahiro Sunada set the road 100 km world record of 6:13:33 twenty years ago, 2:17:23 marathoner Nao Kazamibested a deep and competitive field to win the Lake Saroma 100 km Ultramarathon in a world record 6:09:14.

Part of a front group of at least five that went through the marathon split in 2:33:36, on pace for 6:04:01, Kazami lost touch with the lead as rivals Koji Hayasaka and Takehiko Gyoba surged just before halfway to open a roughly 30 second lead that lasted until nearly 75 km. But in the last quarter of the race Kazami, a graduate of Hakone Ekiden powerhouse Komazawa University, was the only one who could sustain anything close to the early pace, overtaking Hayasaka and Gyoba before pulling away to open a lead of over 11 minutes. Kazami's mark took more than 4 minutes off the world record, and he also bettered the 100 km track world record of 6:10:20 set in 1978 well before he was born by the late Don Ritchie.
Trying to stay wi…