Skip to main content

National Corporate Women's Ekiden Championships - Start Lists

by Brett Larner

Start lists for today's National Jitsugyodan Women's Ekiden Championships are now available. Click here for a link to the list of names in Japanese. Some notable names:

First Stage
Yoshiko Fujinaga (Team Shiseido)
Tomoka Inadomi (Team Wacoal)
Mizuho Nasukawa (Team Univ. Ent.)

Second Stage
Betelhem Moges (Ethiopia/Team Denso)
Ann Karindi (Kenya/Team Toyota Jidoshokki)
Felista Wanjugu (Kenya/Team Univ. Ent.)
Christine Muyanga (Kenya/Team Panasonic)
Grace Kimanzi (Kenya/Team Starts)
Doricah Obare (Kenya/Team Hitachi)

Third Stage
Yoko Shibui (Team Mitsui Sumitomo Kaijo)
Yurika Nakamura (Team Tenmaya)
Misaki Katsumata (Team Daiichi Seimei)
Kayoko Fukushi (Team Wacoal)
Kayo Sugihara (Team Denso)
Ryoko Kizaki (Team Daihatsu)
Yukiko Akaba (Team Hokuren)
Kazue Kojima (Team Toyota Jidoshokki)
Hiroko Shoi (Team Nihon ChemiCon)
Yuko Shimizu (Team Sekisui Kagaku)
Mika Yoshikawa (Team Panasonic)
Mizuki Noguchi (Team Sysmex)
Mai Ito (Team Otsuka Seiyaku)

Fourth Stage
Yuka Kakimi (Team Daiichi Seimei)
Yumi Sato (Team Shiseido)
Miya Nishio (Team Univ. Ent.)

Fifth Stage
Miki Ohira (Team Mitsui Sumitomo Kaijo)
Risa Shigetomo (Team Tenmaya)
Azusa Nojiri (Team Daiichi Seimei)
Saori Nejo (Team Hokuren)
Akane Wakita (Team Toyota Jidoshoki)
Yuko Machida (Team Nihon ChemiCon)
Madoka Ogi (Team Juhachi Ginko)
Maki Suzawa (Team Yamada Denki)
Megumi Seike (Team Sysmex)

Sixth Stage
Kaori Urata (Team Tenmaya)
Miyuki Ando (Team Daiichi Seimei)
Noriko Higuchi (Team Wacoal)
Hitomi Niiya (Team Toyota Jidoshoki)
Nami Tani (Team Univ. Ent.)
Megumi Kanetomo (Team Yamada Denki)
Seika Nishikawa (Team Sysmex)

(c) 2010 Brett Larner
all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

Kawauchi Takes Six Minutes Off Kitakyushu Marathon Course Record to Lead Weekend Results

After a seven-week break from the marathon, Yuki Kawauchi (Saitama Pref. Gov't) scored his third-straight marathon win, second-straight course record and came just shy of a third-straight negative split as he ran a completely solo 2:11:46 to take almost six minutes off the Kitakyushu Marathon course record. Following up on negative split wins at December's Hofu Yomiuri Marathon and January's Marshfield New Year's Day Marathon, the latter a course record by half an hour, Kawauchi was on his own in the first 100 m in Kitakyushu and never looked back.

In the hilly first 10 km his pace fluctuated from high-2:12 to high-2:10, but once Kawauchi got into the flatter section of the course he settled out on track for a high-2:11 to low-2:12 time. After a 1:05:51 split at halfway he slowed slightly on the outbound trip to the turnaround near 31 km, but picking it up again after 35 km he marked a 6:34 from 40 km to the finish to stop the clock at 2:11:46,  a 1:05:55 second half …

Kenyans Kabuu, Jemeli and Cheyech Lead Nagoya Women's Marathon Field

The Nagoya Women's Marathon is the largest women-only marathon in the world, one with a long history as an elite race and adapting to the times with a mass-participation field of 20,000. The last few years it has seen a series of dynamic, high-level performances by top Japanese women, from Sairi Maeda's 2:22:48 in 2015 to the 2:23:19 to 2:23:20 sprint finish battle between Tomomi Tanaka and Rei Ohara in 2016 to Yuka Ando's stellar 2:21:36 debut and teammate Mao Kiyota's 2:23:47 breakthrough last year.

Maeda, Ohara and Kiyota all return this year to face the Kenyan trio of Lucy Kabuu, Valary Jemeli and Flomena Cheyech Daniel. Kabuu went to high school in Japan before moving on to the big leagues, but she hasn't finished a marathon since her 2:20:21 in Dubai 2015. Cheyech also used to be based in Japan as is a familiar face here, winning the last two Saitama International Marathons. Jemeli is making her Japanese debut, and with a 2:21:57 win in Prague and a 2:20:53 …

Kipsang Talking Loud and Aga Mumbling Bold - Tokyo Marathon Preview

After stepping up to the big leagues last year with course records in the 2:03 and 2:19 range, the Tokyo Marathon hopes to go one better this year. Men's course record setter Wilson Kipsang (Kenya) is back, stepping up from a 2:03:50 prediction for Tokyo in January to a 2:02:50 world record prediction at Friday's pre-race press conference. In the unmentioned absence of women's course record breaker Sarah Chepchirchir the top-ranked woman is Ruti Aga (Ethiopia), coming in hot off a 1:06:39 win last month in Houston and turning heads at the press conference with a boldly mumbled 2:18:00 prediction.

Management for both Kipsang and Aga were skeptical to JRN of their athletes' predictions, people from each camp saying times two minutes slower would be more likely, one minute slower in a best-case scenario. But whatever the prediction, Kipsang was clear to fellow past champs Feyisa Lilesa (Ethiopia) and Dickson Chumba (Kenya) about one thing: he wants a more conservative fi…