Skip to main content

Kanaguri Memorial Meet Results

April 1 is the start of the new academic and fiscal year, the time when runners move up from high school to university teams and on from university to the corporate leagues. The Kanaguri Memorial Meet is always one of the first chances to see people debut in new uniforms, and even though it was a week later than usual this year there were still lots of interesting items to be had.

#1 among them was the debut of Australian Melissa Duncan in the Shiseido team's pink uniform. Duncan had no trouble putting away the field of Japanese and Kenyan corporate leaguers, soloing a 15:20.88 to win the women's 5000 m A-heat by over 20 seconds.

2018 National Sports Festival women's 1500 m champion Ran Urabe (Nike Tokyo TC) had a much narrower margin of victory in the 1500 m A-heat but still pulled out a win over 2018 World U20 Championships 3000 m gold medalist Nozomi Tanaka 4:21.96 to 4:22.25, Tanaka debuting in the new Toyota Jidoshokki TC uniform after moving to that club sponsor at the start of the month alongside training partner Yume Goto.

The men's 1500 m was relatively conservative, with Hiroki Matsueda  (Fujitsu) taking the win in 3:44.46. His new teammate Yuta Bando, the 2018 National XC Champion, had a breakthrough in the men's 5000 m, beating Kenyans Peter Langat (SGH Group) and Joel Mwaura (Kurosaki Harima) to win the A-heat in 13:32.59. 2019 National University Half Marathon champion Akira Aizawa (Toyo Univ.) was 4th in a school record PB of 13:34.94. Toyo grad and half marathon national record holder Yuta Shitara (Honda) was just over a second over his PB in 5th in 13:35.70, his best race since his 2:06:11 at last year's Tokyo Marathon.

B-heat winner Bernard Koech (Kyudenko) was slightly faster than Bando at 13:31.69, but the fastest 5000 m of the meet came in the C-heat via another newcomer, Vncent Yegon Kibet (Tokyo Kokusai University) with a 13:30.51 to beat a solid field of Japan-based Kenyans.

Kanaguri Memorial Meet Highlights

Kumamoto, 4/14/19
complete results

Women's 1500 m A-Heat
1. Ran Urabe (Nike Tokyo TC) - 4:21.96
2. Nozomi Tanaka (Toyota Jidoshokki TC) - 4:22.25
3. Ayako Jinnouchi (Kyudenko) - 4:22.82
4. Maya Iino (Saitama Iryo Univ. Group) - 4:23.22
5. Ririka Hironaka (Japan Post) - 4:23.58

Men's 1500 m A-Heat
1. Hiroki Matsueda  (Fujitsu) - 3:44.46
2. Shohei Shimizu (ND Software) - 3:45.53
3. Yasunari Kusu (Ami AC) - 3:45.95
4. Masaki Toda (Sunbelx) - 3:46.30
5. Kohei Otake (Hiroshima Keizai Univ.) - 3:46.72

Women's 5000 m A-Heat
1. Melissa Duncan (Shiseido) - 15:20.88
2. Pauline Kamulu (Route Inn Hotels) - 15:42.34
3. Tomoka Kimura (Shiseido) - 15:48.27
4. Shiori Yano (Canon AC Kyushu) - 15:52.90
5. Fusan Zeytuna (Denso) - 15:57.23
6. Mai Shinozuka (Univ. Ent.) - 15:59.41
7. Mai Shoji (Denso) - 16:00.23
8. Akane Yabushita (Toyota Jidoshokki) - 16:02.17
9. Miku Daido (Iwatani Sangyo) - 16:03.63
10. Martha Mokaya (Canon AC Kyushu) - 16:09.79

Men's 5000 m A-Heat
1. Yuta Bando (Fujitsu) - 13:32.59
2. Peter Langat (SGH Group) - 13:33.13
3. Joel Mwaura (Kurosaki Harima) - 13:34.70
4. Akira Aizawa (Toyo Univ.) - 13:34.94
5. Yuta Shitara (Honda) - 13:35.70
6. Mitsunori Asaoka (Hitachi Butsuryu) - 13:40.62
7. Taisei Hashizume (SGH Group)
8. Hiroki Abe (Meiji Univ.) - 13:52.36
9. Jonathan Ndiku (Hitachi Butsuryu) - 13:52.50
10. Takanori Ichikawa (Hitachi Butsuryu) - 13:53.15

Men's 5000 m B-Heat
1. Bernard Koech (Kyudenko) - 13:31.69
2. Alexander Mutiso (ND Software) - 13:34.63
3. David Ngure (DeNA) - 13:38.08
4. Evans Yego (Sunbelx) - 13:39.40
5. Ledama Kisaisa (Obirin Univ.) - 13:39.97
6. Hideyuki Tanaka (Toyota) - 13:40.94

Men's 5000 m C-Heat
1. Vincent Yegon (Tokyo Kokusai Univ.) - 13:30.51
2. Andrew Lorot (Subaru) - 13:32.21
3. Daniel Kipkemoi (Nishitetsu) - 13:38.82
4. Patrick Mathenge Wambui (NTT Nishi Nihon) - 13:40.95
5. James Bunuka (Surugadai Univ.) - 13:42.80

© 2019 Brett Larner, all rights reserved

Buy Me A Coffee


Most-Read This Week

Today's Race - Samuel Wanjiru Rocks the 2004 National High School Ekiden

Future Beijing Olympics marathon gold medalist Samuel Wanjiru runs a still-standing Third Stage course record to lead Sendai Ikuei H.S. to the National High School Boys Ekiden Championships title. The team's winning time, a course record at the time, is still the second-fastest ever.

T-Minus About 100 Days to a National Record - Hitomi Niiya's Complete Training for Her Half Marathon NR in Houston

At the Jan. 19 Aramco Houston Half Marathon, Hitomi Niiya ran 1:06:38 to break Kayoko Fukushi's 2006-era national record with support from JRN. Former men's 800 m national record holder Masato Yokota, 32, coached Niiya to that record. Over the next three days he is publishing Niiya's complete training diary for the months leading up to Houston. JRN will be publishing them in English with permission.

To people who aren't interested this will just be a list of numbers, but I thought it might help the hardcore track maniacs kill some time if I got Niiya's consent to publish her training diary for the 100 days leading up to Houston. Please do not reproduce this info without permission. You're more than welcome to give these workouts a go (although I can't guarantee you'll survive).

Notes in advance
・Easy jogs were once a day on Friday and Sunday, twice a day on other days.
・Strength training every day except Sunday.
・Daily mileage totaled about 30 km. Friday…

Today's Race - 2017 National High School Girls Ekiden

Sendai Ikuei H.S. and Nagano Higashi H.S. go after defending champ Osaka Kunei Joshi Gakuin H.S. at the 2017 National High School Girls Ekiden Championships.