Skip to main content

Women's 5000 m World Leader for Chepyego at Kanaguri Memorial

by Brett Larner

The Japanese outdoor track season began in earnest Apr. 9 with the first of the season's major meets, the Kanaguri Memorial Track Meet in Kumamoto. Locally-based Kenyan Sally Chepyego (Team Kyudenko) had the biggest result of the day with a world-leading 15:18.70 to win the women's 5000 m after dueling with fellow Kenyan Ann Karindi (Team Toyota Jidoshoki). 10000 m junior national record holder Megumi Kinukawa (Team Mizuno) was 3rd in 15:51.33, holding off former Tamagawa University ace Tomomi Tanaka (Team Daiichi Seimei) in Tanaka's pro debut. Tanaka's teammate, the unknown Kaho Tanaka (Team Daiichi Seimei), was almost as strong in the 5000 m B-heat, running 15:56.03 for the win.

Titus Waroru, Takuya Ishikawa and Daniel Gitau in the men's 5000 m. Click here to enlarge photo.

In the men's 5000 m, Kenyans took the top five spots with Edward Waweru (Team NTN) coming in a step ahead of 10000 m Japanese all-comers' record holder Josephat Ndambiri (Team Komori Corp.) in 13:21.37. Former Meiji University captain Takuya Ishikawa (Team Chugoku Denryoku) was the top Japanese finisher, 6th overall in a solid PB of 13:35.38. High school sensation Kenta Murayama (Komazawa Univ.) had a credible university debut, two seconds off his PB in 13:51.62, while 2011 World Championships marathon team members Yoshinori Oda (Team Toyota) and Hiroyuki Horibata (Team Asahi Kasei) both went under 14 minutes.

2011 Kanaguri Memorial Track Meet Top Results
Women's 5000 m Heat Two
1. Sally Chepyego (Kenya/Team Kyudenko) - 15:18.70
2. Ann Karindi (Kenya/Toyota Jidoshoki) - 15:41.35
3. Megumi Kinukawa (Team Mizuno) - 15:51.33
4. Tomomi Tanaka (Team Daiichi Seimei) - 15:52.77
5. Seika Nishikawa (Team Sysmex) - 16:00.24
6. Hiroko Miyauchi (Team Kyocera) - 16:00.51
7. Nanae Kuwashiro (Team Sysmex) - 16:03.39
8. Yukie Nagata (Team Toyota Jidoshoki) - 16:16.43
9. Chieko Kido (Canon AC Kyushu) - 16:19.06
10. Misaki Kato (Team Kyudenko) - 16:19.48

Women's 5000 m Heat One
1. Kaho Tanaka (Team Daiichi Seimei) - 15:56.03
2. Misato Tanaka (Team Sysmex) - 16:04.11
3. Maki Suzawa (Team Yamada Denki) - 16:12.02
4. Megumi Seike (Team Sysmex) - 16:13.25
5. Rina Hidaki (Fukuoka Univ.) - 16:15.88

Men's 5000 m Heat Three
1. Edward Waweru (Kenya/Team NTN) - 13:21.37
2. Josephat Ndambiri (Kenya/Team Komori Corp.) - 13:21.76
3. Patrick Mwaka (Kenya/Team Aisan Kogyo) - 13:26.29
4. Daniel Gitau (Kenya/Team Fujitsu) - 13:34.12
5. Titus Waroru (Kenya/Chinzai H.S.) - 13:34.89
6. Takuya Ishikawa (Team Chugoku Denryoku) - 13:35.38
7. John Maina (Kenya/Takushoku Univ.) - 13:37.09
8. Tsuyoshi Ugachi (Team Konica Minolta) - 13:43.10
9. Ikuto Yufu (Komazawa Univ.) - 13:44.60
10. Kenta Murotsuka (SDF Academy) - 13:45.72
11. Alex Mwangi (Kenya/Team YKK) - 13:45.81
12. Yoshinori Oda (Team Toyota) - 13:51.08
13. Kenta Murayama (Komazawa Univ.) - 13:51.62
14. Suguru Osako (Waseda Univ.) - 13:54.64
15. Yoshikazu Kawazoe (Team Asahi Kasei) - 13:56.71
16. Ryuji Kashiwabara (Toyo Univ.) - 13:58.00
17. Hiroyuki Horibata (Team Asahi Kasei) - 13:59.76
18. Duncan Muthee (Kenya/Takushoku Univ.) - 14:08.95
19. Taku Fujimoto (Kokushikan Univ.) - 14:09.46

Men's 5000 m Heat Two
1. Hiroyuki Ogawa (Team Yachiyo Kogyo) - 13:56.03
2. Yasuhiro Tago (Team Chugoku Denryoku) - 13:59.78
3. Satoshi Kubooka (Team JFE Steel) - 13:59.93
4. Tomoaki Bungo (Team Asahi Kasei) - 14:01.71
5. Takasi Ichida (Daito Bunka Univ.) - 14:02.37

Men's 5000 m Heat One
1. Takuji Morimoto (Team Chugoku Denryoku) - 14:04.31
2. Shinji Ando (Team Togami Denki) - 14:05.56
3. Ryosuke Maki (Team Osaka Gas) - 14:05.85
4. Satoshi Osaki (Team NTT Nishi Nihon) - 14:06.38
5. Naohiro Yamada (Team YKK) - 14:07.56

High School Girls' 3000 m Heat Four
1. Misuzu Nakahara (Kamimura Gakuen H.S.) - 9:21.68
2. Shoko Sonoda (Chikushi Joshi Gakuen H.S.) - 9:22.22
3. Ayano Ikeuchi (Ritsumeikan Uji H.S.) - 9:22.45
4. Nanako Kanno (Ritsumeikan Uji H.S.) - 9:24.01
5. Mio Chijiiwa (Chiharadai H.S.) - 9:26.92

(c) 2011 Brett Larner
all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

Kiplagat, Ichiyama, Tadese and Shitara Lead Marugame Half Elite Field

The Kagawa Marugame International Half Marathon is always one of Japan's deepest races of the year on the men's side, its 2012 running setting a world record for the most men under 64 minutes in a single half marathon in history. On the women's side the field is always smaller but still home to the 1:07:26 Japanese national record set by Kayoko Fukushi (Wacoal) back in 2006.

Edna Kiplagat (Kenya), Sara Hall (U.S.A.) and Betsy Saina (Kenya) lead the women's international field, two-time defending champ Eunice Kirwa (Bahrain) giving Marugame a miss this year. Fresh off a 1:09:14 PB at last month's Sanyo Ladies Half, Mao Ichiyama (Wacoal) leads a trio of Japanese women with recent sub-1:10 times, something that has become a puzzling rarity lately. Fukushi is also back, her recent best of 1:12:04 a long way from her best days.

Speaking of which, world record holder Zersenay Tadese (Eritrea) will be looking to break 60 minutes for the first time since 2015. His toughest…

Kawauchi Outruns 103 Teams to Win Yashio Isshu Ekiden

2017 London World Championships marathon 9th-placer Yuki Kawauchi (Saitama Pref. Gov't) gave local club and high school runners something to remember when he ran Sunday's Yashio Shinai Isshu Ekiden solo against 103 six-runner teams. Kawauchi spent most of the 20.0 km race in 2nd, briefly taking the lead at the end of the 3.9 km Second Stage before falling behind after a Third Stage course record run by Kotaro Minowa (Matsudo T&F Assoc.).

Down 13 seconds, Kawauchi came back to split a time 14 seconds faster for the 2.7 km Fifth Stage than its fastest ekiden runner, Yusei Otsuki (Kasukabe H.S. A). Now ahead of Matsudo and out front alone, Kawauchi saved his biggest running for last, dropping a 2:40 final km to split 14 seconds under the 12:34 course record for the 4.0 km anchor stage. Desperate to catch him, Matsudo anchor Shunsuke Matsui went 6 seconds under the old record to become its official new holder but couldn't match Kawauchi's closing speed.


Cheboitibin, Kiprono and Sonoda Top Beppu-Oita Mainichi Marathon Elite Entries

With just over two weeks to go the organizers of the Feb. 4 Beppu-Oita Mainichi Marathon have released their elite field for this year's race. With its history as an elite men-only race Beppu-Oita's women's field is still tiny given its status as an IAAF silver label race, but this year promises a good race between two local 2:32 women, 2016 winner Hiroko Yoshitomi (Memolead) and Yuka Takemoto (Canon AC Kyushu), that should see the 2:39:57 course record fall. Defending champ Haruka Yamaguchi (AC Kita) also returns with a 2:38:43 PB from last fall that puts her range of the course record as well.

The men's race is heavier-duty, with a spot in the MGC Race Tokyo Olympic Trials available to the top Japanese man under 2:11:00 and to up to five others if they clear 2:10. Hayato Sonoda (Kurosaki Harima) and Taiga Ito (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) are the only Japanese men in the field to have run those kinds of times in the last couple of years, and with support from 2:09~2:10 men