Sunday, April 25, 2010

Makau, Notagashira Take Asics Challenge

by Brett Larner

The 2010 Hyogo Relay Carnival got underway on Apr. 24 with the sprints and Asics Challenge distance events.

In the Asics Challenge 10000 m, the weekend's men's 10000 m B-heat, Kenyan Nicholas Makau (Team Yachiyo Kogyo) easily defeated Keita Akiba (Team Komori Corp.) and Akihiko Tsumurai (Team Mazda) but was more than 45 seconds off Samuel Wanjiru's B-heat meet record from 2005. Miho Notagashira (Team Wacoal), teammate of national record holder Kayoko Fukushi, won the Asics Challenge women's 5000 m by a few strides over Shoko Mori (Team Otsuka Seiyaku) in 15:54.48.

The Hyogo Relay Carnival continues on Apr. 25 with the high school races and Grand Prix 1500 m and 10000 m A-heats.

2010 Hyogo Relay Carnival Day One - Top Finishers
click here for complete results or event header for individual event results

Asics Challenge Men's 10000 m
1. Nicholas Makau (Kenya/Team Yachiyo Kogyo) - 28:18.94
2. Keita Akiba (Team Komori Corp.) - 28:34.42
3. Akihiko Tsumurai (Team Mazda) - 28:36.91

Asics Challenge Women's 5000 m
1. Miho Notagashira (Team Wacoal) - 15:54.48
2. Shoko Mori (Team Otsuka Seiyaku) - 15:55.25
3. Yuka Takashima (Team Denso) - 15:57.41

(c) 2010 Brett Larner
all rights reserved

No comments: