Skip to main content

Aoyama Gakuin Runners Top Kanagawa Half Marathon

by Brett Larner

Strong winds battered the university runners at the head of the 32nd Kanagawa Half Marathon Feb. 7 in Yokohama. A lead pack of five made up of runners from Komazawa, Meiji, Aoyama Gakuin and Senshu universities stayed together through the early stages of the race, but when Aoyama Gakuin's Yasumasa Ogawa attacked the pack quickly strung out. Ogawa, who ran the downhill Sixth Stage at last month's Hakone Ekiden, took over two minutes off his PB to win in 1:04:51. His teammate Shungo Kawamura likewise knocked his PB down by more than two minutes, 4th in 1:05:05, while Aoyama Gakuin first-year Takuya Yokoyama rounded out the top 5 with yet another PB of 1:05:08. The trio's performance continued Aoyama Gakuin's momentum from making the seeded top 10 at Hakone for the first time in over 30 years. All three runners will return next year. Finishing 2nd in 1:05:00 was Meiji University first-year Katsuhiro Tanaka in his half marathon debut.

2010 Kanagawa Half Marathon - Top Finishers
1. Yasumasa Ogawa (3rd yr., Aoyama Gakuin Univ.) - 1:04:51 - PB
2. Katsuhiro Tanaka (1st yr., Meiji Univ.) - 1:05:00 - debut
3. Junichi Akagi (unattached) - 1:05:01
4. Shungo Kawamura (2nd yr., Aoyama Gakuin Univ.) - 1:05:05 - PB
5. Takuya Yokoyama (1st yr., Aoyama Gakuin Univ.) - 1:05:08 - PB
6. Yuki Hayase (1st yr., Komazawa Univ.) - 1:05:09 - PB
7. Naoki Matsuo (2nd yr., Senshu Univ.) - 1:05:10
8. Soichiro Nishio (3rd yr., Aoyama Gakuin Univ.) - 1:05:20 - PB
9. Kota Hoshino (1st yr., Senshu Univ.) - 1:05:23 - debut
10. Kazuki Nakamura (Kokugakuin Univ.) - 1:05:24

(c) 2010 Brett Larner
all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

Kawabata Over Kawauchi at Takashimadaira 20 km

Like a distant echo of the thunder of yesterday's Yosenkai 20 km reverberating across the city, Tokyo's other major 20 km road race took place this morning in the northwestern suburb of Takashimadaira. Narrowly surviving the loss of its main sponsor last year, the Takashimadaira Road Race offers a unique 5 km loop course that delivers fast times. Now in its 42nd year, Takashimadaira is a favorite for upper-tier universities that don't have to run the Yosenkai to requalify for the Hakone Ekiden, for other schools' second-stringers, and for top-level independents and amateurs.

This year's race was fronted by a group of runners from Izumo Ekiden winner Tokai University who didn't make Tokai's final Izumo roster, by London World Championships marathoner Yuki Kawauchi (Saitama Pref. Gov't) and others from yesterday's Yosenkai winner Teikyo University and the Hakone-qualified Juntendo University and Komazawa University. In the same cool and lightly rainy…

Kawauchi and Kanematsu Win Rainy Shimantogawa 100 km

The 23rd edition of the Shimantogawa Ultramarathon took place Oct. 15 in Shimanto, Kochi. 1822 runners started the 100 km division, where Yoshiki Kawauchi (26, Saitama T&F Assoc.) and Aiko Kanematsu (37, Team RxL) took the men's and women's titles for the first time.

The 100 km division started under a heavy downpour at 5:30 a.m. in front of Warabioka J.H.S. The 576 participants in the 60 km division got off 4 1/2 hours later from Koinobori Park, with both races finishing at Nakamura H.S.

Kawauchi, the younger brother of "civil servant runner" Yuki Kawauchi, ran Shimantogawa for the second time, improving dramatically on last year's run to win in 6:42:06. "Last time I was 21st, a total disaster," Kawauchi said afterward. "My brother told me, 'Don't overdo it on the uphills,' and his advie helped me get through it. The scenery around Iwama Chinkabashi was really beautiful."

Kanematsu began running with her husband around age 30…

Osaka Marathon Elite Field

One of the world's ten biggest marathons, in its six runnings to date the Osaka Marathon has continued to avoid the addition of a world-class elite field of the same caliber as at equivalently-sized races like Tokyo, Berlin and Boston. In place of doling out cash to pros, Osaka's women's field has developed into a sort of national championship race for amateur women.

In the field this year are six, probably all six, of the amateur Japan women to have broken 2:40 in the last three years. Last year's top three, Yoshiko Sakamoto (F.O.R.), Yumiko Kinoshita (SWAC) and Hisae Yoshimatsu (Shunan City Hall) lead the way at the 2:36 +/- level, with a second trio of Marie Imada (Iwatani Sangyo), Mitsuko Ino (R2 Nishin Nihon) and Chika Tawara (RxL) all around the 2:39 level.

Last year's winner Sakamoto and 3rd placer Yoshimatsu squared off in September at Germany's Volksbank Muenster Marathon, Yoshimatsu tying Sakamoto's Osaka winning time of 2:36:02 to take 3rd over …