Skip to main content

Japanese Olympic Marathon Teams Announced

by Brett Larner

The big news in Japanese distance running today was the announcement of the Japanese women’s and men’s marathon teams for the Beijing Olympics. There were four contenders for each team, both including a tough decision. The results were, for better or worse, unsurprising.

On the women’s side, two of the three slots were taken by Reiko Tosa of Team Mitsui Sumitomo Kaijo, who was guaranteed when she won a bronze medal at the Osaka World Championships last summer, and defending Olympic gold medalist Mizuki Noguchi of Team Sysmex, who had an incredible course record win at the Tokyo International Women’s marathon in November to effectively seal a position. The last slot was a toss-up between Tenmaya teammates Tomo Morimoto, top Japanese but 2nd overall in January’s Osaka International Women’s Marathon where she ran 2:25:34, and 21-year old Yurika Nakamura, who won her marathon debut yesterday at the Nagoya International Women’s Marathon in 2:25:51. While the experienced Morimoto’s time was faster, the selection committee at Rikuren placed higher emphasis on rookie Nakamura’s win. Her 1:11:08 2nd half, a 3 1/2 minute negative split, was surely also a factor. Morimoto is thus consigned to alternate status.

From this it seems that Rikuren’s criteria are good results in a world-level event or a win in one of the three selection races over a fast time. No men medaled in the World Championships or won a selection race, but the selection criteria for them were evidently not simply based upon time. Tsuyoshi Ogata of Team Chugoku Denryoku was chosen based on his 5th in the World Championships last summer, a fair performance but not especially impressive when you consider how easily he was dropped in the final kilometers by eventual 3rd and 4th place finishers Viktor Rothlin and Yared Asmeron. Atsushi Sato, also of Team Chugoku Denryoku, was all but guaranteed a slot thanks to his 2:07:13 3rd place finish at the Fukuoka International Marathon in December. Satoshi Osaki of Team NTT Nishi Nihon was named to the 3rd spot after his 2:08:36 3rd place finish in the Biwako Mainichi Marathon and his 6th in the World Championships. Left over in the alternate spot, unfortunately, is newcomer Arata Fujiwara who had a stellar run in the Tokyo Marathon where he finished 2nd in 2:08:40.

Osaki’s time was only 4 seconds faster than Fujiwara’s, but Fujiwara finished higher and, subjectively, ran a far more impressive race. The more controversial decision is Ogata’s selection over Fujiwara. Ogata’s result in the World Championships was good, but ultimately he was in contention for a medal and failed. Rikuren officials specifically said that Ogata was chosen over Fujiwara for the former's depth of experience and past achievement. Precedent supports this decision. Team Chugoku Denryoku's Shigeru Aburaya was 5th in the 2003 Paris World Championships and was picked for the Athens Olympic team over national record holder Toshinari Takaoka's 3rd place 2:07:59 qualifier; Aburaya duly went on to come in 5th in Athens, the top Japanese placing. Ogata is a reliable runner and says he will run well in Beijing, but 5th place is not a medal.

The media and officials frequently talk about how Japanese men aren’t as good as the women; while they took a risk and added a rookie to the women’s team, Rikuren missed a chance to cultivate a talented new man by choosing a veteran with a history of passable results and a weaker qualifier instead. This has to be a bit discouraging to the younger generations of runners. It would be wonderful to see New York or Chicago pick up Arata Fujiwara this fall and give him the chance he deserves.

(c) 2008 Brett Larner
all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

18-Year-Old Waithaka Runs 10000 m World Leading Time at Nittai - Weekend Roundup

photo by @tsutsugo55225

For the second time in the last three weeks, a Japan-based Kenyan ran the fastest time in the world this year for 10000 m at Yokohama's Nittai University Time Trials series. On October 20th it was 2015 World U18 Championships 3000 m gold medalist Richard Kimunyan (Hitachi Butsuryu), 20, with a 27:14.70  that surpassed Ugandan Joshua Cheptegei's world-leading mark by almost five seconds. This time it was 2018 World U20 Championships 5000 m silver medalist Stanley Waithaka (Yakult), 18, taking almost two minutes off his PB to break Kimunyan's mark with a 27:13.01 win.

Both winners received support from 2014 Commonwealth Games steeplechase gold medalist Jonathan Ndiku (Hitachi Butsuryu), who ran season bests for 2nd place each time, 27:50.38 three weeks ago and 27:28.27 on Saturday. 2013 World U18 Championships 3000 m bronze medalist Alexander Mutiso (ND Software) was also under 28 minutes, running just off his PB at 27:42.16 for 3rd. Kazuma Taira (Kan…

2018 Japanese Distance Rankings - Updated 11/11/18

JRN's 2018 Japanese track and road distance running rankings. Overall rankings are calculated using runners' times and placings in races over 5000 m, 10000 m, half-marathon and marathon and the strength of these performances relative to others in the top ten in each category. Click any image to enlarge.

Past years:
2017 ・ 2016 ・2015 ・ 2014 ・ 2013 ・ 2012 ・ 2011

© 2018 Brett Larner, all rights reserved

Go Ahead and Call It a Comeback - Niiya Breaks Shibui's Course Record in Return to Road Racing

Ladies and gentlemen, Hitomi Niiya is back.

You might remember Hitomi Niiya from the 2013 Moscow World Championships 10000 m, where she led the entire way only to get destroyed over the last lap and finish 5th in 30:56.70. That made her the third-fastest Japanese woman ever over that distance, but not long after that race she quit the sport entirely, getting an office job as far away from athletics as she could and not running for almost five years.

But the pull of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics is strong, and, now 30, early this year she made the decision to try to make a comeback. Under the eye of former men's 800 m national record holder Masato Yokota she ran a 3000 m and two 5000 m time trials on the track between April and October before choosing the East Japan Women's Ekiden for her return to the roads and the longer distances.

The East Japan Women's Ekiden celebrated its 34th running Sunday, 9 stages totaling 42.195 km through the Fukushima countryside with teams from eac…