Skip to main content

Asian Cross Country Championships - Results

Story on African-born Bahraini athletes dominating senior races here:

12th Asian Cross Country Championships
Quingzhen, China, 3/24/12
results via @athletekuma

Senior Men's 12 km
1. Alemu Bekele (Bahrain) - 35:33
2. Dejene Regassa (Bahrain) - 35:39
3. Bilisuma Shume (Bahrain) - 35:41
4. Hasan Mahboob Ali (Bahrain) - 36:18
6. Hayato Saito (Team Honda) - 36:59
7. Yu Mitsuya (Team Toyota Kyushu) - 37:06
8. Daichi Motomura (Tokai Univ.) - 37:13
10. Hiroyoshi Umegae (Team NTN) - 37:44

Senior Women's 8 km
1. Shitaye Eshete (Bahrain) - 26:14
2. Tejitu Daba (Bahrain) - 26:50
3. Genzebe Shami (Bahrain) - 26:59
4. Hitomi Niiya (Sakura AC) - 27:03
8. Sachi Tanaka (Sports Yamagata 21 AC) - 27:53
10. Ayuko Suzuki (Nagoya Univ.) - 28:35
11. Toshika Tamura (Matsuyama Univ.) - 28:54

Junior Men's 8 km
1. Shota Baba (Kurashiki H.S.) - 25:07
2. Yudai Yamamoto (Suma Gakuen H.S.) - 25:10
3. Taiga Machizawa (Kashiwa Civic H.S.) - 25:10
4. Kazuki Murakami (Mima Shogyo H.S.) - 25:11
6. Yuta Koyama (Toyokawa Kogyo H.S.) - 25:32

Junior Women's 6 km
1. Miyuki Uehara (Kagoshima Joshi H.S.) - 20:26
2. Shiori Yano (Kitakyushu Civic H.S.) - 20:29
3. Momoko Akiyama (Hakuoh Joshi H.S.) - 20:37
4. Nanami Aoki (Ritsumeikan Uji H.S.) - 20:57
6. Mai Shoji (Okazaki Gakuen H.S.) - 21:00


yuza said…
It is good to see Niiya run a good consistent race with even splits.

Most-Read This Week

Takamatsu Makes Return to Racing After Nike Oregon Project Disappointment

Running again in her hometown on the second day of the Osaka Track and Field Championships at Yanmar Stadium Nagai, 2014 Youth Olympics girls' 3000 m gold medalist Nozomi Musembi Takamatsu (19, Osaka T&F Assoc.) took the first step toward a comeback. Closing the gap to the runner ahead of her on the second lap, Takamatsu finished with effort to spare in 2:14.51 for 2nd. "I was able to run the way I'd envisioned," she said afterward. "I had some anxiety since it was pretty much my first real race in a year but I was able to give it my best."

After graduating from Osaka Kunei Joshi Gakuin H.S. in the spring last year Takamatsu moved to Oregon, U.S.A. to take part in the "Nike Oregon Project" elite long distance group created by Nike. With a dream of winning gold in the 5000 m or 10000 m at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and high hopes in her heart, she crossed the ocean.

But in the U.S. she was hit by the cold hand of reality. "I was DFL every ti…

Kim Sets Korean 5000 m National Record, Tsuetaki Clears Steeple Standard, Osako Comes Up Short - Abashiri Highs and Lows

The final meet in Japan's Hokuren Distance Challenge series, Thursday's Abashiri meet was set up to give people one last chance to clear the qualifying standards for next month's London World Championships ahead of the fast-approaching deadline. Temperatures were far above normal for northern Hokkaido through much of the day, the mid-afternoon peak reported at over 36C at the time of the men's 800 m A-heat and still at 25C at the start of the five standard-chasing races in the evening.

網走女子5000A — ホクレン・ディスタンスチャレンジ2017 (@hokurendc2017) July 13, 2017
The best race of the day was the women's 5000 m A-heat. With two women already confirmed for London the third spot on the team was up for grabs. First in line under the JAAF's criteria for addition, top three at Nationals and under the 15:22.00 standard, was 16-year-old Shuri Ogasawara (Yamanashi Gakuin H.S.), 3rd at Nationals in an U18 national record of 15:23.56. Next in line would be anyon…

Endo Breaks 3000 m Junior National Record in Kitami

Already the U18 national record holder for 3000 m, 18-year-old Hyuga Endo (Sumitomo Denko) stepped up with an U20 record in the men's 3000 m at the third meet in the Hokuren Distance Challenge series Sunday in Kitami, Hokkaido.

北見男子prj-A3000m陸連強化レース(ペースメーカーあり) — ホクレン・ディスタンスチャレンジ2017 (@hokurendc2017) July 9, 2017
The men's and women's 3000 m races on the program as a step toward Wednesday's fourth and final HDC meet in Abashiri where people will be shooting for last-minute London World Championships qualifying standards. With pacer Evans Keitany (Toyota Boshoku) targeting 7:55 the men's race came down to a sprint finish between Tetsuya Yoroizaka (Asahi Kasei), Takashi Ichida (Asahi Kasei) and Chiharu Nakagawa (Toenec) over the last lap. Yoroizaka dropped Ichida in the home straight to win in 7:52.70, the fastest-ever 3000 m time by a Japanese man on Japanese soil and one that made him all-time #10 in the Japanese record books. Closing fast, …